Some sounds don’t leave our minds….

It was around 7p.m. The sun had not yet set. And it shouldn’t. We’re in Spain. The sun doesn’t set here even at 9p.m. People work late here, while taking a short nap in the afternoons. Museums stay open till 8p.m or 9p.m. But we were tired. Unable to move. Fixing ourselves on the park bench. Our backpacks were lying next to us. We were waiting for a friend. She hasn’t yet finished her work. And minutes seemed hours for us. We were just wishing to jump on to the bed.

It was the first day of our vacation. And there we were in that park totally tired. How would our remaining days pass? These thoughts were crossing my mind. Many people were coming and leaving. Some stared at us. Thanks to our backpacks and our cameras lying hanging on our necks, they would have rightly guessed that we were tourists.

I was bit at unease. But I was also very excited. I was waiting for this trip for months. I wanted to make the most of the short vacation. Museums, Beaches and works of Gaudi. Then there was Sagrada Familia. The list was big.

A City Tour Bus passed along with a lot of people sitting on the top. Yet another one in 5 minutes. And yet again. I was totally surprised. Looks like we are not the only ones here. I clicked some pictures while sitting on the park bench.

Click Clock Click Clock……….

I couldn’t believe my ears. The sound of horse hooves. It can’t be possible. I am sitting in the city center and I hear the horses right behind me. This is not possible. I jumped from my seat. I looked right behind me, the source of the sounds. Yes, I could see it clearly. A horse carriage in the middle of a major road in Barcelona. I checked and rechecked. Yes, it was indeed a horse carriage. A Horse carriage with people. Camera clicked.

Horse Carriage on a Road in Barcelona, seen from behind the bush in a park

Horse Carriage on a Road in Barcelona, seen from behind the bush in a park

Memories flashed. These sounds felt familiar. Very familiar. Where did I hear it? Was it in New Delhi? No, it wasn’t in Delhi. It was in Agra after the visit to the Taj Mahal.  Coming out from a place known as a symbol of love, me and my friends had decided to take a horse carriage (called Tanga in the local language) to visit the Agra Fort. It sounded strange to some of us. For some among us, it was our first ride. A unique experience.

Our minds are great. The sounds of our unique experiences are saved in some corner of our brains only to pop them out at a later point of time. Memories of those sounds of horse hooves still lingered in my mind.

The trip went all fine. We were able to visit all the places that we had wished to.

We started our trip in Barcelona hearing the sound of the horse hooves. And on the last day, while we were preparing to leave, we once again saw our horse friends. This time with another set of tourists. Time flies…

Horse Carriage with Tourists in Barcelona

Horse Carriage with Tourists in Barcelona

Horse Carriage with Tourists in Barcelona

Horse Carriage with Tourists in Barcelona

Refer The Sound of Blogging.

