Some Local Beliefs, Barcelona, Spain

Every country has its set of beliefs irrespective of its advancement in technology. People can’t be separated from their beliefs and wishful desires. While walking in Park Guëll, Barcelona, we found this lock hanging on a gate. The lock had the letters M with a cross in between along with the year (2011 or 2016) inscribed on it. Is it some wish for the future? or a prayer of the past? Why was it hanging there? Who put it there? Like the numerous characters of the Greek Mythology whose stories still remain mystical to me, I preferred the stories behind this lock to be hidden from me. Somehow its position pointing towards Sagrada Familia made me believe that it is a prayer. I wish the person a good chance.

Lock hanging on a gate in Park Güell, Barcelona

Lock hanging on a gate in Park Güell, Barcelona

The gate had many such locks. It may be that these locks are not associated with any wishes or prayers. It may be that somebody just placed them there. But my instinct doesn’t allow me to believe in the latter

Locks hanging on a gate in Park Güell, Barcelona

locks to Locks hanging on a gate in Park Güell, Barcelona

