Visit to Qutub Minar, Delhi

I got a chance to spend a couple of days in New Delhi, the capital of India. And as usual, I spent my time visiting the historical monuments. As Delhi is an old and large city, I had to be very choosy in my places to visit. There were some places that I couldn’t visit since they were closed on the day of my visit. Yet I was happy that I was able to see the places that I wanted to visit.

Delhi is a very old city and is a city of great historical relevance. It is also called Indraprastha. On my first day of travel, I visited the Qutub Minar. I wonder why Delhi is not called the Pink City even though they are more buildings in pink colour than in Jaipur. And Qutub Minar is one such example.

One cannot go inside the Minaret since it is closed to the public. Anyways, the Minar is constructed beautifully. The caligraphy on the minaret add to its beauty. The surrounding ruins reminds us of its age.

Caligraphy on Qutub Minar

Caligraphy on Qutub Minar

Early Morning near Qutub Minar

Early Morning near Qutub Minar

Qutub Minar and the surrounding ruins

Qutub Minar and the surrounding ruins

Near Qutub Minar

Near Qutub Minar

 

 

