Visit to Jaipur, India

What do you expect in a desert? Hot weather and sweating. But my trip to Jaipur is not a rant about the hot weather. I had heard about Jaipur multiple times in my life. Pink city, Hawa Mahal, Thar Desert (Even though it is far from Jaipur) are the first words that come to my mind. Even now, those words bustle in my ear.

As expected of any major city in India, Jaipur is also a populous city. It may not be comparable to New Delhi or Mumbai. But Jaipur is also a little crowded city. But what attracted me the most is its historical palaces. There are very fewer places in India where you still get the feeling of visiting a kingdom of the past. Jaipur is little different. With camels all around (yes it is still a major transport in the city, though more in the outskirts), you sense a slow moving city. It’s really strange to see a large number of people sitting on a cart with no walls pulled by the (poor) camel. But camels are the livelihood for many people.

My day in Jaipur started with a light breakfast and of course with tea. The first place was the Albert Museum. I think I spent a very long time there. In fact, it was very good to see the old craftsmanship. But what attracted (or should i say irritated) me more were the pigeon nets. I haven’t seen them in any other place. Though meant to keep the premises clean, it really created a strange impact on the inner courtyard of the museum and of course, one more barrier by men to cast away the nature’s gifts.

On the way, I also saw Hawa Mahal. It’s sad that I didn’t have enough time to visit the inner premises of the building. Hawa Mahal and the surrounding buildings make you feel that Jaipur as a pink city. With very narrow roads and lots of people, it was really a struggle to visit the Old City (especially during the return journey, more on it later).

The next destination was the Jantar Mantar, a place where one can really understand the contributions of the Indians in the fields of astronomy. Giant structures built to track the position of the celestial bodies.

Afterwards I visited the Amer fort (also known as the Amber Fort). This is where I saw the Sheesh Mahal (Palace of Mirrors). What a marvellous architecture! But I would really love to see its beauty at night with candle lights. I hope the mirrors are shining enough to create the same beautiful effect of centuries ago.

I visited some more historical buildings, but I have no clue of their names. It was really good to have the Rajasthani lunch in the afternoon. It wasn’t as spicy as I had expected. A traditional vegetarian menu with varieties of dishes.

The return journey to the station was a bit worrisome. I had very less time to reach back. But the driver knew my situation. As I stated before, the journey was through the old crowded city. On the onward journey, it didn’t mind me so much. But I was really worried while returning. At one point of time, there was a big traffic jam. But finally, thanks to the driver, I reached the station ten minutes in advance.

Oh yes, I had also bought a couple of sweets from Jaipur.

Some more pictures to share. One of course is a picture of a palace on the waters called the Jal Mahal (Palace on Water) that I couldn’t visit, but could only cherish its beauty from a distance

Jal Mahal, Jaipur, India

Jal Mahal, Jaipur, India

And some more pictures of the lake and other monuments

Lake, Jaipur, India

Lake, Jaipur, India


Jaipur, India

Jaipur, India


Jaipur, India

Jaipur, India


Jaipur, India

Jaipur, India


Lastly, something that attracted me was this bunch of flowers hanging from a basket turned upside down
Garland of flowers over basket upside down, Jaipur, India

Garland of flowers over basket upside down, Jaipur, India

